Faculty

The Department of American Studies consists of eleven core faculty, approximately seventy affiliated faculty from across the campus, and several adjunct faculty, some of whom are associated with organizations such as the Smithsonian Institution.

 

 

Psyche Williams-Forson
Associate Professor & Chair
301.405.6931
pwforson@umd.edu
1328E Tawes Hall

La Marr Jurelle Bruce
Assistant Professor

ljbruce@umd.edu
301.405.1356 
2324 Tawes Hall

Jason Farman
Associate Professor & Director of the Design | Cultures + Creativity Program
301.405.9524
jfarman@umd.edu
3328 Tawes Hall

Perla Guerrero
Assistant Professor
301.405.1359
guerrero@umd.edu
2329 Tawes Hall

 

Christina Hanhardt
Associate Professor & Director of Graduate Studies
301.405.1360
hanhardt@umd.edu
1328D Tawes Hall

Nancy Raquel Mirabal
Associate Professor
nmirabal@umd.edu
301.405.1358
3329 Tawes Hall

Jan M. Padios
Assistant Professor
301.405.0976
jmpadios@umd.edu
2328 Tawes Hall

Jo B. Paoletti
Professor & Director of Undergraduate Studies
301.405.6646
jpaol@umd.edu
3331 Tawes Hall

Sheri L. Parks
Associate Professor
301.405.6255
slp@umd.edu
3324 Tawes Hall

Mary Corbin Sies
Associate Professor
301.405.1361
marycorbinsies@yahoo.com
1328F Tawes Hall

Nancy L. Struna
Professor
301.405.1357
nlstruna@umd.edu
2331 Tawes Hall

Janelle Wong
Professor & Director of Asian American Studies
janellew@umd.edu
301.405.0996
2335 Tawes Hall

John L. Caughey
Professor Emeritus
jcaughey@umd.edu